Back in the Saddle Again

Hello everyone.

It’s been a while since I’ve published, I know. I’ve written things in my drafts for the last few months. Nothing felt right to publish. It was too raw. Too emotional. Too much.

I was also in the middle of a huge career task that required as much creative brain space and all the energy I could give. I am still up to my elbows in that work, but it has some momentum now and I have honestly missed writing about these things that are important to me- authenticity, living a full life, understanding relationships, and understanding myself even better.

So I am single again. Some day I will write about the relationship that ended and completely knocked the wind out of me but today is not that day.

Today I want to start building a conversation about the things we do because we love them. The things we do that make us feel lit up from the inside. The things we do because we feel good, not because it makes us look good.

I have just started to become aware of the things I do that make me feel good versus look good. There are certain things I know I’ve always done that make me feel good. Like swing dancing. I looooooved swing dancing. But I stopped because my schedule changed, and I was tired of going alone. I was tired of being reminded of being so alone during the songs I wasn’t dancing. Sometimes it made me feel desperate and that’s the opposite of what I wanted.

And I was also a personal trainer at the time, with a very early wake up call so going to bed early was crucial. And so was working out. Working out was required. And I realized I was doing that because I had to not because I wanted to.

So I am listening to my body more. Which means a lot of walking in nature, running two or three times a week and doing planks and pushups every morning.

I’m going to wine tastings, volunteering, reading, and spending time with my family. And I am really enjoying my food. I am eating food that is pleasurable to the senses- all of them. I’ve noticed how much I am enjoying colorful, bright salads full of a variety of seasonal food. And then when I want ice cream, I really enjoy the ice cream as a pleasurable experience.

I also booked myself a boudoir photo shoot to celebrate my body and all its curves. And that experience deserves a post all of its own… but let me tell you this: The shoot was a month ago and I am still rocking the confidence I gained from that experience. I highly recommend it.

What do you do that is purely for your own pleasure? Post it in the comments below and maybe you will inspire others to try something new!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Back in the Saddle Again

  1. It is good to see you back and writing again! As for your question, I find my pleasure in my blog right now, as it’s all I can really do. I have to be with my mom 24 hours a day and readily accessible to her at any time, so I don’t have the opportunity to indulge in other pleasures that I enjoy. It makes me smile though to see you writin’ and sharin’ once again. As for a boudoir shoot, well, I don’t think many folks would wanna see an ‘ole hillbilly like me 😀

    • Hi Tim!! Glad to be back too. That’s great that you found a way to find pleasure in addition to being committed to taking care of your mom. I am sure she appreciates everything you are providing for you.

Leave a Reply

