You Don’t Have To Pretend To Be Stronger Than You Feel

Life is tough, and relationships are tough. Sometimes things don’t go the way you want and sometimes you get disappointed.

I had a relationship end this past week. I have so much inspiration from this relationship ending that I will be writing about it for a while. But today I want to share some advice I give myself.

I never have to fake how I feel. I do not have to pretend to be happy, and I do not have to pretend to be sad either.

Sometimes I get overcome with this feeling of deep sadness. Crippling, have to stop climbing the stairs and have a moment to cry sadness. As long as I let myself feel it, I can move on from it pretty quickly.

I have noticed that I enjoy my life more if I can lift my spirits and keep a positive attitude. Not as a way to cover up if I am feeling bad, but to just to make life easier. I’d rather not be mopey if I can help it. Mopey is wallowing in sadness, it’s holding tight to it. I’d rather feel that sadness and let it go. Then move on with the rest of my life.

So some days you wake up not feeling great and not feeling like spending all day crying in bed (which would be ok after a breakup if that’s what you need). Instead, you’re hovering somewhere in the middle. What’s a girl to do?

I dance.

I’ve been dancing as a way to lift my spirit for years, without realizing that was why I was doing it. Currently, Taylor Swift is making me feel like a million bucks. I know it’s poppy, but gosh it makes me feel good. And saying “shake it off” over and over and over is exactly the reminder I need.

Dance it up, ladies and gentlemen.

And should you need inspiration, I was caught on video so I figured it would be appropriate to share.

2 thoughts on “You Don’t Have To Pretend To Be Stronger Than You Feel

  1. Well you are doing good. Hope you get over and enjoy your life to fullest. I am trying as well…I am holding up to something which is giving me pain. Someone I don’t want to let go. So let’s see how it goes. Keep writing by the way. 🙂

    • Yeah, that’s almost exactly what I was going through. So keep an eye out for other posts on that exact topic. It is hard. I believe it shouldn’t be so hard, but despite that I held on way too long when I should have made things easy. Love should be easy. At least that is what I thought.

Leave a Reply

