T.G.I.F: A Friday of Grateful Feelings

I know how hard it can be as a single woman. I don’t know about you, but sad moments can feel really big. I allow myself to feel those, but I tend to brace myself for the worst more often than not. This doesn’t prepare me for the worst, instead it dulls the joyful moments. I am worried the joy won’t last, so I don’t embrace it and feel it fully. I wait for the other shoe to drop, bracing for the bad news around the corner.

Well, that’s life. The joy and the pain are entwined. The inevitability of pain someday doesn’t mean that I shouldn’t enjoy the happy moments.

I am currently reading Brene Brown’s book The Gifts of Imperfection. It’s my favorite  book of hers so far, but I think I say that about all her books while I am reading them. She was describing a practice she has on Fridays at her blog where she writes about moments that she is grateful for. I found this to be an inspiring thought. So I decided to bring you my own TGIF.
Here is my list of things I am grateful for today:

– Great music, my favorite radio station WTMD (you can stream it live online atwww.wtmd.org if you like independent radio stations!) always seems to have e perfect soundtrack for my life. As I started this post, the song playing was titled “Joy.” How’s that for a coincidence?
– Wonderful friends, near and far. A dear friend of mine is moving to Montana, and we hung out last night. It was a silly evening, many drinks were consumed, and there were a lot of laughs. I stayed out too late, walked more on a injured toe than I should have. But I wouldn’t trade that time with my friends for anything. They lift my spirits.
– My health. I bruised my toe really badly this week. Thank goodness it was just a bad bruise, and not a break. But hobbling around this week made me realize how hard it is for people that may have to deal with disabilities permanently. Some people have been very kind to offer help when they see me hobbling, and it is appreciated. I am lucky that this is temporary.
– My parents. I have had a few set backs recently, and when I sat down to reflect a little I realized that my parents taught me to believe I could do anything I wanted if I worked hard enough. They told me to not be afraid, to go after what I wanted, and to do it with confidence. If I didn’t have those principles instilled in me, I don’t know where I would be right now.
– Sunshine! Spring is finally arriving in Maryland. It is still chilly sometimes, but the sunshine makes me so happy. I spend as much time outside or near windows as I possibly can. It’s the small things that make a big difference for me.

That’s my list for this week, and the practice of writing this has made me feel happier this morning. Maybe it will help you too. What are you grateful for today? Leave your list in the comments and maybe it will make you smile!

7 thoughts on “T.G.I.F: A Friday of Grateful Feelings

  1. In times past, I’ve kept a gratitude journal, and even when it is just “I am grateful I got through this day and I have nine hours to sleep before I have to start another one” , listing down at least one thing you’re grateful for really does ground you and make you realize how fortunate you are.

  2. I am very much the same way, and you inspired me to do this just now! Check out my blog to see what I’m thankful for tonight 🙂

Leave a Reply

