Letting Go

Letting go has always been a challenge for me, and I think I may be starting to get the hang of it.

I was in pigeon pose in yoga the other day, it really stretches and opens up the hips. I had a hard time lining things up, but the stretch felt really great. We held it for a long time. The instructor told us that pigeon is actually about letting go of the Past. Honestly, I didn’t catch a whole lot of the details, but this part stuck out to me, while I was sort of struggling to find the right posture.

A stretch to help me let go? I’m game.

I can see the relation between releasing the body and letting go and also releasing the past. Our bodies can get so tight, so wound up and stuck. So can our minds and hearts.

The more I think about it, the more I think that letting go is the key to all this. Let go of expectations. Let go of attachment to the results. Let go resentments, past hurts, guilt, fear. Let go of the past. All of this adds up to unnecessary trouble for myself.

Letting go allows me to live in the moment and to appreciate where I am right now. Being present means that I am being open to what is happening and not looking backwards or hoping for something in the future.

It’s not easy. It feels easier to get caught up in the emotion and to hang on to that. To hang on to what could have been or what I thought was going on. Hanging on to the stories I create in my head, that seem that they could be so real.

But they weren’t. Hanging on to all that continued to hurt me, not heal. When I let go, I felt light. I felt happier, even in a small way. But I knew that what I was feeling was real, not imagined in my head.

Letting go is also letting me be open to possibility. It’s like when you’re redecorating. You can’t add new furniture if there is no room for it. If you still have your old couch and coffee table, what happens when you add your gorgeous new items? It makes the room look junky and cluttered.

Let go of the old. It makes space for the new. The old is past. If it were meant to be here now, it would still look and feel right to you. There’s a reason why your gut says to move on.

Have I overplayed the furniture metaphor?

Regardless, letting go may feel hard at first. But the feeling you get afterwards is worth the temporary uneasiness.

It feels free.

7 thoughts on “Letting Go

  1. I like that your blog helps you work through stuff. I think this is a powerful read about the past. What’s interesting about you talking about Yoga is it reminds me of something about the body. If we don’t continually put work into it (exercise, stretching, etc) it will return to it’s old form… but when we embrace a new way of living… that is what becomes us.. but it takes constant work, maintenance and dedication. Thank you!

  2. If anyone ever comes up with a sure-fire way to”let go and get on with your life” and markets it, I am sure that in a very short time their wealth will rival Bill Gates’ wealth. I liked your attitude and your post…go, girl!

  3. Reblogged this on AndiMirandi and commented:
    Letting go of people and bad relationships, is one of the things I’m trying to accomplish this year. This helps. To know I’m not alone and to try to look at letting go, in a different light. Thank you.

  4. Pingback: Let It Burn | Single Gal Starting Over

Leave a Reply

