Book Review: The Single Woman

Mandy Hale is known in the Twitter community as The Single Woman. She writes a blog here, and has built her empire of creating a space where she can celebrate womanhood and being a strong, independent woman. She is sassy, fun, spiritual, and lively. I first found her through Mastin Kipp of The Daily Love blog.

The Single Woman: Life, Love and a Dash of Sass came out this summer, and had perfect timing for me. Mandy’s book is light and fun. I wrote about it before, and I have a few other posts that will be inspired by it. I read it fast, in just two sittings. The chapters are short and read like her blog posts, but they are thought provoking and inspiring.

Honestly, my biggest criticism is that she includes these one liner rhymes that make a point, but it seems childish and belittling. I get that Twitter is all about getting noticed, and rhyming can do that and make it memorable. But I don’t think that it is very sassy, it’s just a little annoying. I don’t need to be cutesy to be excited to be single.

Other than that, I liked what she wrote about. I like that she celebrates how strong a woman can be, particularly when she is alone. I love that she is a voice for women that are single, and happy to be that way. Mandy isn’t about helping you find the next boyfriend, she’s about loving who you are right now and celebrating the path you are on. She takes a more religious undertone, which is great if that’s your thing. But she isn’t pushy or preachy, and I didn’t find it off-putting.

Her love for life comes jumping off the page and is contagious. If you are looking to be uplifted, this is a great book for it. If you are looking for inspiration or thoughts to reflect on, this is a great book. I didn’t always agree with what she said, but it made me think more about what I believe.

A fun, light read. Plus the Kindle edition was only $2.99!

Leave a Reply

