Happy New Year, Y’All: A 2014 Playlist

I wanted to share a short playlist I have created to ring in and celebrate the new year. To inspire big dreams, to realize passions, to love one and all. To get my butt in gear and get outta my own way so I can make my dreams a reality.

I normally don’t place heavy significance on New Year, I believe you can start over and wipe the slate clean any time. Any day can be the start of a new year if you decide it to be. You don’t have to wait for a calendar page to flip.

The fact that I have big plans for myself coincides with a new year beginning. I am a follower and a big fan of Danielle LaPorte, who teaches us that it’s not so much the what of your goal, it’s how you want to feel. So while I have some specific goals I’d like to achieve I am also very clear of why I want those goals and what I would like to feel while achieving them.

To me, that is equally important. Because we’ve all had experiences where we reach a goal, but then it feels lackluster. It wasn’t what we expected, it’s a let down, anti-climatic. So define how you want to feel. The what will come, it may not be exactly what you expected either.

Music plays a major role in my life. So this will be my anthem of the year, what I plan to turn to for strength, solace, inspiration, and joy. I’m excited to share it with you.

Here’s my Cheers to 2014 playlist for you:

Madness by Muse

Girl on Fire by Alicia Keys

I’m Alive (Sounds Like This) by Michael Franti and Spearhead

Do It Anyway by Ben Folds Five

Into the Wild by LP

Lifeline by Ben Harper

Keep Your Head Up by Ben Howard

Heart on Heart Mike McFadden (from my hometown. God, I love this song. Do yourself a favor- hear the recording at itunes because I had a hard time finding a good video)

You Got The Love by Florence and the Machine

Get Lucky by Daft Punk (because I think it’s appropriate for a single gal to be wishing for this for a new year! And the song always makes me dance. I also laugh hysterically at this particular video)

The Wire by Haim

I Start to Run by White Denim

The Ceiling by The Wild Feathers

Icarus Smicarus by The Punch Brothers

Most Likely You’ll Go Your Way And I’ll Go Mine by Bob Dylan

Don’t Wait Too Long by Madeline Peyroux

The Fighter by Gym Class Heroes

It’s OK to Be Young/Gone by Joseph Arthur

Jam out!! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

