Listen Up, Self! Get Outta My Way!

How many times have I been told (and said to myself) “I get in my own way”? Or the less nice version, “I am my own worst enemy.”

If my life was a movie, it would be like Fight Club without all the blood and beating and half naked men. It would be like Katherine Heigl portraying the totally neurotic me and then my alter ego would be that girl from Don’t Trust the B in Apt 23. She would constantly be getting in the way and screwing things up along the way. Audiences would wonder why are these two girls are friends, and then the big reveal that they are really the same person!

Gasp! What an unexpected twist!

I feel like gasping something dramatic like “Denoument!” Because when you say it in its Frenchy kind of way it sounds like you’re very shocked.

It really just means it’s the part at the end of the play where all the plots get tied together and there is a resolution so things can come to an end. Usually it isn’t a good thing because it’s hard to gracefully tie up so many plot points.

But I know that would be how my life/movie would end. With an almost sloppy Denoument because it has too much going on to make it a neat resolution.

So in an attempt to get out of my own way, I am doing a Random Acts of Kindness Advent Calendar. Each day I will have a randomly assigned act of kindness to perform.

More than anything else, I want to spread holiday cheer. I feel the magic this time of year and I would like other people to feel that way too. I also know that if I focus on making others happy than I can stop worrying so much about the unimportant minutiae that I sometimes allow to bog me down. I have a lot to be grateful for in my life and the B on my shoulder sometimes focuses solely on the negative.

It is time to spread some love.I will be tracking my progress with short updates on Twitter @sarahcurnoles and possibly some blog entries here when it feels inspiring.

‘Tis the season for love and Kindness! Happy Holidays, y’all!!

2 thoughts on “Listen Up, Self! Get Outta My Way!

  1. Pingback: I Don’t Think We Should Go Out | SoshiTech

  2. Pingback: Ordinary things that make life better | The Always Believer

Leave a Reply

