Thanksgiving Post: Be Kind

Today is a day where the blog writers of America all write their lists of what they are thankful for.  I will join them with a list of things that I am thankful for today and everyday, and that will be at the bottom. But before I get into that I want to share something that struck me this morning.

I, like most of America, watch the Thanksgiving Day Parade on NBC, and I LOVE watching the Today Show beforehand. I love that usually it is filled with human interest stories, especially stories of children that are at St. Jude’s Hospital. The stories of strength, perseverance and unconditional love from the family usually fill my heart and make me misty.

This morning, they interviewed Ray Rice the Baltimore Raven (go Ravens! I’m a Baltimore girl) about his work with kids and teens to out an end to bullying.

Ray said something that struck a chord. He said Be Kind. What a simple message but so important. He stressed that you never know what another person is going through so be kind.

I like to think that I adopted a similar philosophy for myself and my personal interactions with people. When I worked in a phone center, it was really hard. But I can remember when my boss had me listen to a phone call that was a total disaster.  I was an assistant manager and it was my job to take the call when they caller asked for a supervisor. I got the job done, but it wasn’t pretty. And he pointed out that I was so focused on fixing the problem that I never spent any time empathizing with the caller.

That was a literal wake up call for me. That person could have been having an awful day and I wasn’t listening to her. And that was actually really all I needed to do for my job! Listen! Let that person feel heard.

Now I really try to practice that. I try to remember that every person is doing the best that they can. The best they can. And we have all had those days that our best isn’t that great because we’re dealing with some big stuff. And we know it’s not other people’s problems, but we’d really like someone to cut us some slack.

And that’s exactly what I try to do. Be kind. Cut people some slack.

So, with that simple idea, I am going to leave you with my list of what I am thankful for!

My mom and sister. My grand mom for being with us for one more year. My family that will be cooking (and for not laughing when all I show up with is a bottle of wine).   My wonderfully warm and cozy studio apartment. Cozy pjs and having the time to paint my nails while enjoying the parade. My health and the ability to keep working out. My lovely friends! My mentors for being courageous enough to share their stories with the world and to teach the public. Laughter. Wine with dinner at 1pm. Hot cocoa. Boots and cozy sweaters. Champagne. Whipped cream. My silly cousins and their daughters. Every relationship I have had that has taught me something.

And you my readers, the people that are helping me make this the community I have hoped for!

Bon appetite and Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Post: Be Kind

  1. As usual.. I enjoyed your blog. It’s kind of like a cup of coffee for me. I take my time, savor it and enjoy it. I like that about your writing style. Please keep in mind that a murderer said be kind… while I am joking (kinda)…. Go Steelers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

