Pancakes for One

What is sadder than a Saturday night in? Sunday morning, making pancakes, for one.

I am a big fan of pancakes. I am also a big fan of Sunday mornings. I love the New York Times. On a good day, I can spend hours reading the articles, absorbing new information and living vicariously through all the gorgeous well-off New Yorkers.

You know what makes me love those things a little less is the memory of an ex that loved pancakes and loved my NYT addiction.

So what’s a sassy single gal to do?

I am reclaiming Pancakes for One! I am still working on the perfect recipe, and honestly I don’t do much for recipes I like to mess around. Beyond your basic pancakes from scratch recipe, here are the extras I like to add in:

  • Oatmeal
  • Cornmeal and berries
  • Peanut butter and chocolate chips
  • Greek yogurt (I usually only keep plain around, but bought a banana flavor once and that was a slam dunk!)
  • Bananas and… chocolate chips, or walnuts, or macadamia nuts, or unsweetened coconut flakes
  • Pear or apple pieces
  • Lemon or orange zest
  • protein powder

I think the experimentation gives me something to look forward to when making pancakes even when I’m the only one enjoying them. I’m not the best cook (maybe because I don’t follow recipes!) but I get a lot of pleasure out of playing around with pancakes. And pie recipes. Oh, how I love pie.

What’s your comfort food? What have you reclaimed since a breakup- maybe a recipe you used to cook for him but now you make it for yourself or a new love.

Good ol' fashioned plain pancakes. Delish!

Good ol’ fashioned plain pancakes. Delish!

8 thoughts on “Pancakes for One

  1. looks yummy haha ~ i really hope you are feeling good. I don’t know what to say to comfort someone who broke up… cuz for me, right now, i care about myself more than anyone else since i broke up with my ex bf who is a real asshole lol. so i think, to love yourself more is the most important thing for your own! carry on sis! you can make it!

  2. Hey dear. Funny you should write this. I went to the store today with the purpose of buying comforting foods. So I picked up some stuff to make enchiladas and even picked up a box of pop tarts, some cookies, and a creamer to put into my coffee. I normally am a black coffee kind of guy but I figured with the holiday doldrums just around the corner I should head it off and enjoy some foods I normally don’t. 🙂

  3. What is sadder than a Saturday night in you ask? How about watching by yourself back to back episodes of the Brady Bunch and eating grilled cheese sandwiches (oh by the way I gave up dairy!)
    So, I get ‘pancakes for one’!

Leave a Reply

