Crazy Shit I’ve Tried: Tap, Tap, Tap, Is This Thing On? Day 5

“Even though he didn’t want a relationship with me, I completely and deeplyaccept myself.” Tap-tap-tap-tap-tap?

No, I wasn’t tap dancing. Not yet at least. (Dance parties are one of my favorite ways to shake off the blues, however.)

I was using Tapping, which I later learned is also called EFT, Emotional Freedom Technique. Tapping is similar to acupuncture, just no needles. Tapping is literally tapping into the energetic median points in the body in order to restore energetic balance,

What Is Tapping? 
I’d been reading about it quite a bit, and I was on a mailing list for Nick Ortner, who wrote the book and filmed the documentary The Tapping Solution. Ortner was offering a free course of getting rid of your financial blocks and I was interested. So couldn’t use some help when it comes to earning more money? So I listened and I tried his techniques, but what I was more curious was if this could apply to what I was dealing with in my breakup.

Why Did I Even Try It?
I knew I had a tendency to hold on to some negative energy after a breakup. I didn’t want to accept that I had to move on. And Ortner said something during that video about sometimes you will be tapping and trying to bring positive emotion into your body and you just know it’s false. When you just know it and you can’t believe the positivity, then you need to deal with the facts before you can bring in the positive.

Wow! I had never thought about that. I am a cock-eyed optimist (wow, two South Pacific references in one week, that is really odd).  So I just figured if I focused on the positive enough and long enough, that it would just become true. Fake it till you make it right?

I had never thought about confronting the truth with absolute honesty. Ortner encouraged you really identify what you are feeling and just say that.

How Do I Do It?
The way that tapping works is that you have a few specific points in your body that you tap 5-7 times while speaking a statement of what you’re working on.

So I was literally standing in my apartment saying things like “Even though I feel alone I deeply and completely accept myself.” “even though I feel unloved and worthless I completely and deeply accept myself.”

Hot Damn, It Worked!
And you know what? It relieved the sucky feelings. I wasn’t masking them, I was calling them out into the light and looking at them and accepting myself anyway. It was so freeing. And afterwards I could start saying things that were uplifting and more in line with the law of attraction.

I would highly recommend that you check out what Nick Ortner is doing. There are plenty of free resources and you do the tapping to yourself, so no one needs to know what crazy stuff you’re doing alone. I don’t care how ridiculous it sounds, because it actually worked to make me feel better.

Writing this has reminded me that I should go back to some tapping on a daily basis, keep working on letting go of the negative energy that is blocking me from more love and balance.

I highly recommend that you check it out! 5 heart rating! Especially because it’s free!

5 Hearts! Highly Recommend!

5 Hearts! Highly Recommend!

Resource: www.thetappingsolution.com

Other posts in this series:

Acupuncture

Chiropractic Care

Mantras and Gratitude

Detoxing

Why I’m Doing This

7 thoughts on “Crazy Shit I’ve Tried: Tap, Tap, Tap, Is This Thing On? Day 5

  1. I’m loving this. I had a training on EFT and used it with my clients. A lot of time the teens would be able to just tap a spot at one of those points and it would relieve aggression and agitation. Thanks for sharing. I, too, need to start tapping again. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Crazy Shit I’ve Done: I Made a 40 Day Commitment, Day 6 | Single Gal Starting Over

Leave a Reply

