Laugh, dammit!

There is nothing more important to the healing process than laughter.

Actually, I have a list of a few things that I would rank as pretty darn important for repairing a broken heart, but I still think that laughter may just be number one.

There is a lot of scientific evidence that supports why laughter is important to your health- it relaxes your body and reduces stress, it boosts your immune system, and it improves your mood. But the mental and emotional benefits that I’m really interested in is that is eases anxiety and enhances emotional resilience- plus it is known to strengthen the bonds between the people laughing together.

Screw science. I know for a fact that when I am laughing I can’t be thinking about missing my relationship or the guy.  And I feel a hell of a lot better.

I lucked out after my breakup. I had agreed to stage manage Dracula for a theater company that I work with. I usually swoop in at the end, right before we go into the production and I run all the technical aspects because that is what I am good at. But this time, I agreed to do the whole shebang from the beginning of the process. And I am so glad I did. I signed on to spend 18-20 hours a week with a group of the silliest people I could have ever asked for. 5 nights a week, I was laughing until my sides hurt and tears streamed out of the corners of my eyes.

Even last night, when I am past the hard part of the breakup and I am well into scabbing over the wounds, one of the actors was reciting his lines as a pirate while we were designing a tiny little hat for another actor to wear- a la Kate Middleton.

Yes, I was lucky to be put into this situation. It’s a lot easier than trying to watch 30 Rock reruns alone in my apartment. Yes, that would have me laughing, but I would still feel alone. So what do you do if you get dumped and you’re not signed up to work on a play? Seek out a group atmosphere that will get you laughing. Here are some ideas:

  • Sign up for an improv or stand up comedy class
  • Take a drawing or painting class where there is a nude model (you can bond with fellow classmates over the awkwardness of it all)
  • Try a dance class- physical activity + laughing over two left feet = lots of endorphins
  • Volunteer at an organization in line with your passion- I volunteer with a radio station because I love music. You would be surprised at how many places would be open to taking a volunteer. Get creative and explore different options.
  • Plan girls nights, or dinner parties with friends, or anything that will get a group of people together that will be low stress and high on fun and silliness.

Here is the trend for you to create your own ideas- group atmosphere, don’t take yourself seriously, approach with an open mind, be open and silly in someplace out of the ordinary routine.  Those are just a few ideas, what would you do if you needed to get a good endorphin high?  Post your ideas below in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Laugh, dammit!

  1. I don’t have kids, so spending time with my nieces and nephews is always a mood booster when I need one. Especially if we do something a bit on the naughty side that their parents might not love… mischief makes everyone feel better.

  2. Pingback: Break a Sweat, Make Him Jealous | Single Gal Starting Over

Leave a Reply

